• It takes a village to raise a child

    Nigeria

Atabora Aboya, Weaver from Ghana

Cooperative: Progressive Women's Association

Let us start with introduction. Can you tell me your name, a little about you, where you live, your family, and what is important to you in life?

My name is Atabora Aboya, l am a mother of four children three boys, one girl and two grandchildren. My husband was once working with a government department, however he was redeployed 20 years ago due to economic policy of the government at that time. Things became difficult for my family so I ventured into the basket business.

I live in Tanzui a suberb of Bolgatanga in the Upper East Region of Ghana. In this part of our country, we have two seasons; wet season where we do farming and dry season which we do basket weaving and the production of other craftware which may be in demand.

What percent of your income would you say comes from weaving?

On average 80 percent of my income comes from weaving.

What responsibilities do you have other than weaving? (Family responsibilities, farming, or other)

Farming during the wet season and domestic activities at home.

What is the biggest challenge that you are currently facing?

The biggest problem that I face is the difficult of taking care of family, sometime how to get daily food, payment of school fee and provision of school material for effective studies.

What would you like to do with future income?

With my future income I will like: to take care of my family; pay children school fees; buy textbooks and other learning materials for my children; acquire raw material to expand my business.

What is your dream for your children?

My dream for my children is to give them the best of education to be responsible to themselves and the society at large.

If you could magically change just one thing about Africa; what would it be?

Promote technical and vocational education for the development of the continent